The Communications Workers of America District 1 on Friday came out with a 10-candidate slate of early endorsements for the state Assembly. 

The labor group endorsed incumbent Assembly lawmakers: Nily Rozic, Aravella Simotas, Catherine Nolan, Catalina Cruz, Diana Richardson, Joe Lentol, Yuh-Line Niou, Linda Rosenthal, Harvey Epstein, and Karines Reyes.  

“CWA members have been on the front lines of fighting for workers’ rights again and again over the years, and we have always been able to count on these ten Assemblymembers to fight alongside us,” said Dennis Trainor, vice president, CWA District 1. “From protecting call center jobs to standing with striking workers to establishing farmworkers' right to organize, each one of them has shown unparalleled commitment to worker justice, and by extension, making this state even stronger.”

Labor endorsements, including one from a union like CWA with 65,000 members in the state, could be key given the progressive primary challenges incumbents in the state Assembly are expected to face this June.